Remind Me Who I Am

“Who am I?”

We might see ourselves as a thousand things, or one. I heard this song on the radio many times before watching the music video. When I saw the video, I couldn’t help the tears that crept into my eyes.

A man is traveling, taking pictures of people on his journey. Each one has their own story. Often, our stories could never be completely expressed, but sometimes one word or phrase is enough:

“Empty”

“They used me”

“Betrayed”

“I don’t matter”

“Rejected”

“Anxious”

He took their pictures, as they held their simple cardboard signs. But when each picture developed, the word was different. Every picture ended up with the same word.

The one word that each of us is, no matter what else or who else we think we are:

“Beloved.”

It’s a word each of us could be reminded of more often.

Leave a Reply

