You Can Have Me

Some songs I hear seem to merge into my being, and it becomes a theme of sorts during that stage in my life.

Other songs, rather than fitting into a stage of my life, seem to expand and actually be part of the overall theme of my life.

That’s the case with this song. My husband bought me a Sidewalk Prophets CD when we saw them perform at the Rock ‘N’ Worship Roadshow in 2012. We would listen to the CD in the car, and I never listened closely to the words of this song until one day I heard the phrase while I was driving:

When did love become unmoving?

When did love become unconsuming?

For some reason it struck a chord in me. Love isn’t meant to be either of those … but so often it is. So I listened closer and the words of the whole song are amazing. On Thursday, I’ll try to write more about why the lyrics of the whole song seems to flow along with certain recurring themes of my life.

Listen to the song. Think of how it pieces together with your experiences of love, life, faith, and the Father.

2 thoughts on “You Can Have Me”

Leave a Reply

