He Lives in You

The sequel of a movie is rarely as good as the original. I’m not talking about trilogies, as they are generally designed to be more than one movie (except for the Matrix; they really could have stopped with the first one … but I’m digressing).

In any case, I never watch the sequel of Disney movies. I stopped after Pocahontas. (Actually, I stopped watching Disney movies altogether after Pocahontas. Can you get any further from a true story? Ack! … Digressing once again.)

So I never saw The Lion King 2. I never heard the song at the beginning of the movie until I found it quite by accident on youtube. Someone had merged it with clips from The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe. It fit perfectly. In fact, it fit even better with that movie than it could possibly fit to anything else. How could you say

“He lives in you,

He lives in me,

He watches over

Everything we see”

about anyone but Him? Aslan, as a parallel to Jesus and a lion (but not a tame lion) fills the part perfectly.

So that’s why, instead of the usual style of music I post each week, I’m posting a Disney song. The first video below is “He Lives in You” with clips from The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe. The second one is the same song with clips from Prince Caspian. Neither of them are of the best resolution. Feel free to comment if you find a better version on youtube (or want to make one).

Night and the spirit of life calling
And the voice with the fear of a child answers

Wait! There’s no mountain too great
Hear these words and have faith
Have faith

He lives in you, he lives in me 
He watches over everything we see
Into the waters, into the truth
In your reflection, he lives in you

2 thoughts on “He Lives in You”

  1. This is such a wonderful song, we’ve had it on our playlist for some time. I don’t blame you for not watching Lion King 2, it’s probably the worst Disney movie ever made. This song is so deep though, at least they got something right.

    Like

Leave a Reply

