The Blessing of a Curse

fireflies“It was 2 am and I was sitting on the floor in my parent’s basement … I have insomnia and I’ve always had a tough time falling asleep for as long as I can remember.

I wanted to sing about my inability to sleep in a whimsical way that portrayed the condition as lighthearted and almost more of a ‘blessing’ than a curse.

It’s ironic that when sleep and I cannot bring ourselves to meet is often when inspiration strikes hardest.

I’d just been on vacation to Iowa the week before I wrote the song and was amazed at how many fireflies came out at dusk. I didn’t really have to think about making a connection between insomnia and lighting bugs, it just sort of happened and the song basically wrote itself. It was a lot of fun.”

– Adam Young, creator of “Owl City” on his song “Fireflies

Leave a Reply

