New Year Resolutions

New Year Resolutions:

This year …
I’ll take more time to laugh and smile,
To feel the wind upon my face,
To learn true wisdom from a child,
Give my soul the needed space,
To live life pure and clear …
… this year.

This year …
I’ll learn to turn off my computer,
Interact with human beings,
Spend less time in online stupor,
More time learning, breathing, seeing
All that life holds dear …
… this year.

This year …
I will resolve to write that letter
That I have too long neglected,
Make an aching heart feel better,
Cheer a friend who feels dejected,
Bring someone some cheer …
… this year.

This year …
I’ll not be hijacked by my deadlines,
Or imprisoned by ambitions.
Or let dismal, gloomy headlines
Dictate my heart’s disposition.
I’ll choose faith, not fear …
… this year.

This year …
I’ll see the struggling flower beneath
The hard, frosty exterior
Of one who lets frustration seethe
Because they feel inferior.
I’ll try to draw them near …
… this year.

This year …
No high and mighty resolutions
Fit for presidents and kings.
I’ll start a quiet revolution,
Seek these simple loving things
Above wealth or career …
… this year.—Ian Bach

Leave a Reply

